DRAFT MINUTES OF THE AUSTRALIAN FLYBALL ASSOCIATION INC. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING SATURDAY 30th August 2014

(Subject to approval at 2015 AGM)

The Meeting opened at 7.30 pm EST with telephone connections to the following venues:

A.C.T. –BDOC Club House – Organiser Carolyn Shrives
Victoria – Berwick Dog Clubhouse - Organiser Ian Gauntlett
Sydney – Cerebal Palsy Alliance Centre – Organiser Frank Lux
Tasmania – 7 Prince Regent Place Huntingford – Organiser Tania Virieux
Queensland –Mella Farm Purga – Organiser Jennifer Crane.
South Australia – Tad Mar Holden Hill- Organiser Catherine Saberton

Attendance of Members – 88 members present as per the venue attendance sheets.

Apologies – Apologies from Kylie White, Heather Addie, Linda Coughlan, Julie Rigney, John Lennox, Irene Curtis, Ross Miller, Christine Bates, Ian Kendt, Cathy Trudinger and Jenny Lean.

Item 1. Minutes of 2012/13 AGM

Moved A. Coleman Seconded D.Basille that the 2012/13 AGM Minutes be accepted. CARRIED

Item 2. Matters Arising from the Minutes

Nil matters arising.

Item 3. Presidents Report.

lan Gauntlett read his 2013/14 Presidents Report, which was also available for members to read on the AFA web. Moved Ian Gauntlett Seconded Jenny Millar that Presidents Report be adopted. CARRIED.

Item 4 Financial Statements and Auditors Report.

The Treasurer introduced the 2013/14 AFA Financial Statements and the accompanying Auditors Report and invited any comments or questions. No questions or comments.

Moved Pat Byrne Seconded Richard Mellon that the Financial Reports be accepted. CARRIED.

Item 5. Announcement of results of postal Rules ballots

The President asked the Secretary to read the results of the postal ballot for the 5 Rule changes circulated to all members. The Secretary advised the meeting that the Returning officer had received and counted 82 Ballots received and that all five Motion had received the required majority needed for adoption as follows:

Motion 1 Annual Affiliation of Clubs 79 Yes, 2 No and 1 abstain.

Motion 2 Abolishment of card from crossing 80 Yes, 2 No.

Motion 3 Correction of error in return run 79 Yes, 2 No and 1 abstain.

Motion 4 Minimum age for Junior stewards 81 Yes, 1 No.

Motion 5 Appointment of Relief Judges 62 Yes, 19 No and 1 Abstain.

The Secretary indicated the new Rules would be included in the Official Rules and Policies document reprint as quickly as possible.

Item 7. Member Motion.

The President indicated that at the close dates as specified in the Constitution there had only been one Member Motion submitted for ballot. The Motion was to introduce Open Format racing in accordance with a set of Rules proposed by the member. The Motion was moved by Martin Watt and Seconded by Frank Lux. Martin in introducing his Motion amended the proposed Rules to delete the 2 second break out and to indicate that Open format teams could not set any records or enter National or State Championships. The amended Motion became the Motion.

Martin spoke to his Motion indicating it was designed to allow members from small clubs that did not travel to become part of a bigger clubs team for events away from home. The President invited members to speak for or against the Motion and asked that they limit their statements to no more than 2 minutes. Tim Slade spoke against the Motion indicating that the proposal was not similar to the NAFA situation as Open teams in NAFA were not allowed to enter normal format races. He indicated that he felt the proposed Rules were deficient and that Open Teams appeared to work against the 90 day Rule. After discussion the Motion was put to the vote. Result 11 votes for the Motion; 59 votes against the Motion11 Abstaining. Motion lost.

Item 8. Life Membership Nomination.

There had been one nomination received for Life Membership – for Ian Gauntlett. Ian stood aside and left the Meeting whilst the ballot was conducted by show of

hands. After counting of ballet it was announced that the result was 62 For, 2 Against and 17 Abstain. Motion CARRIED for Life Membership.

Item 8. AFA Annual Awards.

The President announced the following annual awards:

Novice Club of the Year (Little Springer Trophy) - Moorabbin Obedience Dog Club

Club of the Year – (Springer Award) - Awarded to Norwest Thunderdogs.

Team of the Year - Psychos Phantoms - Charlie CRN 2451A , Skye CRN 128D, Kaos CRN 128C, Georgia CRN 2503A.

Presidents appreciation Award for services to AFA in 2013/14 – Awarded to the two members who undertook the majority of checking of competitions results before posting to the AFA Web site – Karen Shields and Sue Norton.

President offered congratulations to all the winners.

Item 9 Committee Elections.

The Returning Officer declared all positions vacant.

The following Members, being the sole applicants for the positions shown, were declared elected unopposed:

President – Richard Mellon Vice President – Jenny Millar Secretary - Brian Lindsay Treasurer - Patricia Byrne

Regional Representatives:

NSW Representative - Robyn Addie ACT Representative - Carolyn Shrives Queensland Representative - Jennifer Crane S.A. Representative - Catherine Stroop

Committee Members: Julie Pamplin

Phil Lea Anne Coleman Ian Kendt Ian Gauntlett Penny Lloyd

The President advised that no Nominations had been received for Victorian or Tasmania Regional Reps and asked if any of the Victorian or Tasmanian Members present wished to stand for the position. No nominee from Tasmania emerged. For Victoria nominations for Josh Ellen and Rodney Gooch – Victorian members voted and Josh Ellen elected.

He also advised that one General Committee position was unfilled and called for nominations from the floor. Nominations received for Tim Slade; D. Basille and Jason McFarlane. A secreta ballot conducted and after counting Tim Slade was announced as the winner of the ballot.

President thanked the outgoing Committee for its efforts in 2013/14 and in particular thanked Kylie White, Frank Lux and Ros Wood who did not stand for re election in 2014.

There being no further business the Meeting was declared closed at 8.40 pm.

Signed as a correct record of discussions

President.