DRAFT MINUTES OF THE AUSTRALIAN FLYBALL ASSOCIATION INC. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

SATURDAY15th August 2015

(Subject to approval at 2016 AGM)

The Meeting opened at 7.30 pm EST with telephone connections to the following venues:

A.C.T. –BDOC Club House – Organiser Carolyn Shrives
Victoria – Berwick Dog Clubhouse - Organiser Joshua Ellen

Salvation Army 35 Myers St Geelong – Organiser Sally Hunt.

NSW – Cerebal Palsy Alliance Centre – Organiser Robyn Addie
Tasmania – 92 George St Dulcot Organiser Jo Grant
Queensland –Pine Rivers Showground Strathpine – Organiser Jennifer Crane.
South Australia – Tad Mar Holden Hill- Organiser Catherine Stroop

Attendance of Members –146 members present as per the venue attendance sheets.

Apologies – Apologies from Ian Kendt, John Lennox, C.Moore, Helen Reid, Keith Fidler, Robyn Bailey, Graeme Horne, Nicole Leah, Sophie Calvert, Kate Chamberlain and Marietta Noest.

Item 1. Minutes of 2013/14 AGM

Moved Richard Mellon Seconded Les Scott that the 2013/14 AGM Minutes be accepted. CARRIED

Item 2. Matters Arising from the Minutes

Nil matters arising.

Item 3. Presidents Report.

Richard Mellon read his 2014/15 Presidents Report, which would be available for members to read on the AFA web. Richard provided an overview of achievements in 2014/15 including membership (full members 533; total including Associates 746 and 774 registered dogs); Number of clubs 44; number of competitions 55, Stewards 105; Timekeepers 42 and Judges 25. He thanked the outgoing Committee for its work throughout the year.

Item 4 Financial Statements and Auditors Report.

The President introduced the 2014/15 AFA Financial Statements and the accompanying Auditors Report and invited any comments or questions. No questions or comments.

Moved Pat Byrne Seconded Catherine Stroop that the Financial Reports be accepted. CARRIED.

Item 5. Announcement of results of postal Rules ballots

The President asked the NSW Returning Officer to read the results of the postal ballot for the 2 Rule changes circulated to all members. The Returning Officer advised the meeting that that both Motions submitted to members had received the required majority needed for adoption as follows:

Motion 1 Rules for Round Robin Handicap Format 189 Yes, 44 No. Motion 2 Rule 2.7 amendment re Branch structured clubs 139 Yes 96 No.

Item 7. Member Motion.

The President indicated that at the close dates as specified in the Constitution there had been no member resolutions submitted for ballot. He asked if there were any Motions from the floor – none submitted.

Item 8 . Life Membership Nomination.

The President advised that there had been two nomination received for Life Membership – for Verdelle Townsend and Pat Byrne. After counting of ballot it was announced that the result was:

Verdelle Townsend For 127 Against and Abstain 19

Pat Byrne For 130 Against and Abstain 15

Both Motions for Life Membership CARRIED.

Item 8. AFA Annual Awards.

The President announced the following annual awards:

Novice Club of the Year (Little Springer Trophy) – Pepperdogs Flyball Team

Club of the Year – (Springer Trophy) - Norwest Thunderdogs

Team of the Year - Pepperdogs Green Peppers – Sam CRN 2314B, Jack CRN 2314A, Roxie CRN 688C and Zack CRN 1140C.

Presidents appreciation Award for services to AFA in 2014/15 – Awarded to two members – Sally Lea for her outstanding assistance and contribution to the Sub Committee undertaking the development of the new Judge accreditation Process and Jason McFarlane for assistance in the implementation and management of the new AFA Web site.

President offered congratulations to all the winners.

Item 9 Committee Elections.

The Returning Officer declared all positions vacant.

The following Ballots were conducted for contested positions on the Executive :

President – Candidates Richard Mellon and Rodney Gooch After ballot counted – Richard 98 votes Rodney 45 votes Abstain 3. Richard Mellon declared elected.

Secretary - Candidates Brian Lindsay and Tim Slade After Ballot counted – Brian 93 votes Tim 51 votes Astain 3. Brian Lindsay declared elected.

The following Members, being the sole applicants for the positions shown, were declared elected unopposed:

Vice President – Jenny Millar Treasurer - Patricia Byrne

Regional Representatives:

NSW Representative - Robyn Addie ACT Representative - Carolyn Shrives S.A. Representative - Catherine Stroop Victorian Representative - Rodney Gooch Tasmania Representative - Jo Grant

General Committee Members:

After the above process there were 9 Candidates standing for the 7 vacant positions on the Committee. Members were asked to vote for 7 of the 9 notified candidates. After ballot the following results were declared: Elected Candidates:

Jason McFarlane	124 Votes
Phil Lea	123 Votes
Julie Pamplin	112 Votes
Anne Coleman	105 Votes
Jennifer Crane	96 Votes
Shireen Pitt	92 Votes
Karen Shields	85 Votes

Unsuccessful Candidates:	
Justin Allen	74 votes
Tim Slade	69 votes

The President advised that whilst a Nomination had been received for Queensland Regional Rep that Nomination had been withdrawn. He asked if any of the Queensland Members wished to nominate for this position from the floor. Nomination Proposed and Seconded for Harold Kielly. Harold agreed to stand. No further nominations received. Harold Kielly declared elected.

President thanked the outgoing Committee for its efforts in 2014/15 and in particular thanked Ian Gauntlett, Ian Kendt, Penny Lloyd, and Joshua Ellen who did not stand for re election in 2015.

There being no further business the Meeting was declared closed at 9.40 pm.

Signed as a correct record of discussions

President.